1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

2004 NCAA Women's Hockey Championship

Minnesota dominates to win its first NCAA women's hockey title.


Go to coverage of the 2005 NCAA Women's Hockey Championship

The University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, has won its first ever NCAA women's hockey championship. Minnesota scored four third-period goals - including two in the first minute of the period - to break a 2-2 tie and defeat Harvard 6-2 in the championship game.

Minnesota's Krissy Wendell had four points in the championship game, along with four points in the semifinal win over Dartmouth. Wendell was voted the tournament's Most Ourtsanding Player.

The women's Frozen Four was played March 26-28 at the Dunkin' Donuts Center in Providence, Rhode Island.

March 26:
University of Minnesota, Twin Cities 5 - Dartmouth College 1
Harvard University 2 - St. Lawrence University 1

March 28: Third Place Game
St. Lawrence University 2 - Dartmouth College 1

March 28: National Championship Game
University of Minnesota, Twin Cities 6 - Harvard University 2

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.