1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.
Adam Gretz

NHL rookie of the year race to be dominated by teenagers

By March 14, 2014

Follow me on:

This year's NHL rookie class may not have a Sidney Crosby or an Alex Ovechkin in it, but it's a pretty deep group that has been dominated by players that have not turned 20 years old.

We took a look at five of the best, including Colorado's Nathan MacKinnon, Pittsburgh's Olli Maatta, and Nashville's Seth Jones.

Only 10 defensemen have won the Calder Trophy, which is awarded annually to the league's top rookie, so that's going to make things difficult for Maatta and Jones, especially as MacKinnon puts together the type of season we don't typically see from a player that young.


No comments yet. Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.