1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

NHL Hands Out Consolation Prizes

By June 19, 2009

Follow me on:

Turns out that Las Vegas was the perfect venue for Thursday night's 2009 NHL Awards.

In a town famous for turning winners into losers, most of the trophies went to guys who looked like winners all year, until they lost big in the playoffs.

The Pittsburgh Penguins, with their so-so regular season, came away empty handed. Evgeni Malkin was given the Art Ross Trophy for most points, but we already knew about that.

The Penguins didn't care, because they have the only trophy that matters.

The individual awards are for regular season performance. Voting is done before the playoffs begin.

With the show coming just a few days after Pittsburgh's triumph, it was a reminder that 82-game excellence means little when it's followed by playoff disappointment.

The Washington Capitals and Boston Bruins cleaned up, which must have felt more bitter than sweet.

Remember how great they were, back before the real games began in April?

The Detroit Red Wings did okay, too. But their 2009 story has already been written, and it doesn't include much celebrating.

Here's the list of Thursday night's "winners," as well as this year's All Star Teams:

Hart Trophy (Most Valuable Player):
Alexander Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
Finalists: Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings; Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins

Norris Trophy (Top Defenseman):
Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins
Finalists: Mike Green, Washington Capitals; Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit Red Wings

Vezina Trophy (Top Goaltender):
Tim Thomas, Boston Bruins
Finalists: Niklas Backstrom, Minnesota Wild; Steve Mason, Columbus Blue Jackets

Calder Trophy (Top Rookie):
Steve Mason, Columbus Blue Jackets
Finalists: Bobby Ryan, Anaheim Ducks; Kris Versteeg, Chicago Blackhawks

Pearson Award (MVP as voted by the players):
Alexander Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
Finalists: Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings; Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins

Selke Trophy (Top Defensive Forward):
Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings
Finalists: Ryan Kesler, Vancouver Canucks; Mike Richards, Philadelphia Flyers

Jack Adams Award (Top Coach):
Claude Julien , Boston Bruins
Finalists: Todd McLellan, San Jose Sharks; Andy Murray, St. Louis Blues

Lady Byng Trophy (Sportsmanship and Gentlemanly Conduct):
Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings
Finalists: Zach Parise, New Jersey Devils; Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning

Masterton Trophy (Perseverance, Sportsmanship and Dedication):
Steve Sullivan, Nashville Predators
Finalists: Chris Chelios, Detroit Red Wings; Richard Zednik, Florida Panthers

Lifetime Achievement Award: Jean Beliveau

First All-Star Team

  • Goaltender: Tim Thomas, Boston
  • Defense: Mike Green, Washington
  • Defense: Zdeno Chara, Boston
  • Center: Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh
  • Right Wing: Jarome Iginla, Calgary
  • Left Wing: Alex Ovechkin, Washington

    Second All-Star Team

  • Goaltender: Steve Mason, Columbus
  • Defense: Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit
  • Defense: Dan Boyle, San Jose
  • Center: Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit
  • Right Wing: Marian Hossa, Detroit
  • Left Wing: Zach Parise, New Jersey

    All-Rookie Team

  • Goaltender: Steve Mason, Columbus
  • Defense: Drew Doughty, Los Angeles
  • Defense: Luke Schenn, Toronto
  • Center: Patrik Berglund, St. Louis
  • Wing: Bobby Ryan, Anaheim
  • Wing: Kris Versteeg, Chicago

    (Photo: Ethan Miller/Getty Images)

  • Comments

    June 20, 2009 at 9:16 am
    (1) Boo! says:


    June 20, 2009 at 9:38 am
    (2) Leeguru says:

    Golly, Penguins fans aren’t happy unless the world sees their teams greatness. The NHL has done their awards in the same manner for a long time. It recognizes excellence in the regular season. Everyone knows this, and no one but Penguins fans complain.

    June 27, 2009 at 5:55 pm
    (3) G. Karas says:

    What a dumb analysis. So the whole season only is the last playoff round. Don’t enjoy and celebrate the great play during the season. Of course, not winning the Cup is a downer but there is only one team that wins it. It’s pretty dumb dismissing the 31 who didn’t get the cup. They were all winners, not whiny losers, as the Jamie sees it.

    Leave a Comment

    Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

    ©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.